Spousal Abuse Charges Defense in Bakersfield, California
What is Spousal Abuse?
Spousal abuse is considered a type of domestic violence in the state of California where emotional, physical, or sexual violence is inflicted upon an individual within a domestic context. It is taken much more seriously than other forms of abuse. When it comes to charges as serious as this, you will want highly-rated legal counsel by your side. Our spousal abuse charges defense team is well-versed in all laws pertaining to these charges and has a proven track record of success.
California Spousal Abuse Laws
It’s important to note that spousal abuse is not just limited to abuse committed by an existing or former spouse. It can also include acts committed by the following:
- A fiancée
- Former fiancée
- Someone who lives or lived with the victim
- A person that the victim is dating or has dated previously
- A parent of the victim’s child
Our Bakersfield spousal abuse lawyers from Koenig Law Office fully understand all spousal abuse laws in California and can uphold them in a court of law, protecting your legal rights every step of the way.
Spousal Abuse Charges in California
There are two common spousal abuse charges in California:
- Spousal Battery: The crime of spousal battery doesn’t require that a victim is physically injured. Unwarranted or forceful physical contact is enough on a current or former spouse.
- Corporal Injury on a Spouse: This charge can be given as a misdemeanor or a felony in Bakersfield. To be convicted, a prosecutor must prove beyond a reasonable doubt that not only did the defendant intent to inflict a physical injury, but that the victim suffered from a major or minor bodily injury (unlike that of spousal battery).
Some spousal abuse cases also include charges related to violations of a restraining order, which are used to protect abuse victims from their abusers. With a restraining order, the court has the authority to order the restrained person to avoid contact, maintain a certain distance, or take possession of any of their weapons.
California Penalties for Spousal Abuse
Spousal battery can result in the following penalties in California:
- Misdemeanor conviction that is punishable by up to one year in county jail and fines up to $2,000.
- Corporal injury on a spouse charge can be charged as a felony leading to 2-4 years in jail and fines up to $6,000.
You may face severe penalties being charged with spousal abuse. Get the legal defense you need from Koenig Law Office in a FREE consultation today!