Aggressive DUI Defense in Kern County
The state of California takes driving under the influence or DUI charges very seriously. In Bakersfield, DUI cases and other problems with the DMV carry harsh penalties and long-term consequences. Whether you are facing your first DUI offense or a subsequent DUI charge, you need the right representation to ensure your rights and liberty are protected. Attorney Bo Koenig is ready to assist you with your case.
Whether you are facing charges of driving under the influence, have a traffic ticket you need to fight, or have another DMV-related concern, you can trust the Koenig Law Office for help. Not only have we have successfully handled many DUI and DMV-related cases, but Attorney Bo Koenig has earned the ACS-CHAL Forensic Lawyer-Scientist Designation. We analyze every detail of your case to build the strongest defense possible.
If you are facing DUI charges in Kern County, schedule a consultation with our Bakersfield DUI attorney to discuss your options.
Kern County DUI Penalties
If you are convicted of DUI in California, the severity of the consequences will depend on the circumstances surrounding your arrest, as well as if you have had prior convictions for DUI. The law is quite specific about how arrests must be handled. If the arresting officers failed to properly test for blood alcohol levels or made any other mistakes in the arrest process, the case cannot move forward.
For example, if this is your third DUI offense in the past 10 years and you were going over 20 mph above the speed limit, your penalties will be worse.
Kern County DUI penalties include:
- Loss of your license
- Hefty fines
- Required community service
- Jail time
Implied Consent Laws in California
When an individual applies for a driver's license, they automatically give consent to a chemical or field sobriety test with the purpose of determining BAC. This is referred to as "implied consent." In California, refusal of a chemical BAC test can result in a citation. If you are stopped by the police, typically they check for signs of impairment and may request you to take a breathalyzer test in order to determine your BAC (blood alcohol content) levels.
How Long Will My Driver's License Be Suspended?
If you took a chemical test and were found with 0.08% BAC or more, your license will be suspended for a period of time. For individuals 21+ years old, suspension is as follows:
- First Offense: 4-month suspension of driver's license
- Multiple Offenses (within 10 years): 1 year suspension of driver's license
What is an Ignition Interlock Device (IID)?
An IID is installed as a requirement for some DUI convictions, such as reinstating your suspended license after multiple DUI offenses. This is a device that takes your breath sample to determine if there is any alcohol present before the engine will start in your car. The IID will take periodic samples.
Drug-Related DUI Charges Defense in Bakersfield
While personal possession of drugs in California is a simple infraction, if a police officer believes that you used drugs and then drove a car, you can be prosecuted for driving under the influence of drugs (DUID), just like a DUI.
California DUID Laws
Under California DUID law, being under the influence means the substance impaired your ability to drive so you couldn’t use the same caution you would if you were sober. There’s no legal limit regarding the amount of drugs that you can have in your system – any amount can result in a drug-related DUI charge in Bakersfield. It also doesn’t matter if the drug was legally prescribed.
Penalties for DUID in Bakersfield
A drug-related DUI conviction can lead to a permanent criminal record, hefty fines, potential jail time, and even license suspension. With the help of a drug-related DUI charges defense lawyer, your rights can be protected every step of the legal process. The penalties you face will depend on whether you’ve had other DUIs in the past and if you have an existing criminal history. Our legal team can help you to avoid the worst penalties you’re facing.
Possible Defenses for Your Case
Koenig Law Office offers years of experience defending clients to help them to get reduced or dropped charges whenever possible. If this is your first conviction, you will usually just get a fine unless your blood alcohol level was extremely high or you were driving with a minor in the vehicle.
Some common DUI defenses include:
- No probable cause, meaning police didn’t have a legal right to detain or arrest you
- Breathalyzer errors resulting from equipment malfunction or even misuse
- You had no intention to drive despite being in your vehicle
Whatever the case, our Bakersfield DUI lawyer can develop a defense strategy to strengthen your case. We have helped our clients have their charges reduced or dismissed altogether. Call us today to schedule your free consultation and get started.
For specific details about your case, contact our Bakersfield DUI attorney to discuss your options!