How Does a California DUI Affect My CDL?

In order to drive a commercial vehicle such as a semi-truck or a bus, individuals must obtain a commercial driver’s license (CDL). Since these commercial vehicles transport large amounts of cargo or many passengers, CDL holders are held to a higher standard in California and the rest of the nation.

For example, while the legal blood alcohol content (BAC) limit for the average driver is .08 percent, a CDL holder can be arrested for a DUI with a BAC of .04 percent. In addition, this limit applies when a commercial driver is operating his/her personal vehicle at the time of the arrest.

A first-time DUI conviction in California can lead to a CDL suspension for up to one year, or three years if the CDL holder was transporting hazardous materials at the time of the arrest. A second-time DUI conviction can mean lifetime suspension.

No CDL means no career. Even after serving the suspension, CDL holders who have been charged and convicted of drunk driving may not be rehired since employers can hold the crime against them.

If you have been arrested for a DUI, having an experienced criminal defense lawyer on your side can help you avoid harsh penalties, including CDL suspension. Koenig Law Office is dedicated to finding any weaknesses in the prosecution’s case and challenge the legality of the arrest.

For more information, contact us and schedule a free consultation today.

Categories