As of January 1, 2019—until January 1, 2026—SB 1046 requires repeat DUI offenders to install an ignition interlock device (IID) in each vehicle to avoid serving a driver’s license suspension upon conviction in California.
Additionally, the law gives first-time offenders an opportunity to obtain an IID-restricted driver’s license and avoid serving a suspension if convicted.
An IID is similar to a breathalyzer and requires the driver’s alcohol-free breath to start the vehicle. Not only does the device need clean breath to start, but also samples every 15 to 45 minutes to ensure you and sober throughout each trip.
DUI offenses that require IID under SB 1046 in California include:
- First DUI – IID installation for up to six months
- Second DUI or first DUI with injury – IID installation for up to one year
- Third DUI – IID installation for up to two years
- Fourth or subsequent DUI – IID installation for up to three years
Keep in mind, DUI involving drugs are not eligible for the IID program.
Drivers must pay for installation and maintenance. The former costs around $75 to $100, while the latter costs $60 or $80 a month.
However, if you cannot afford a mandatory IID, you may be eligible to pay only a portion of the costs.
Before the program expanded statewide this year, only a few counties—including Los Angeles, Alameda, Sacramento, and Tulare—ran a pilot program for several years.
The IID program helps drunk driving offenders avoid suspension and the struggles of commuting to work, attending classes, or conducting daily errands without your driving privileges.
If you have been charged with a DUI in Bakersfield, contact Koenig Law Office today at (661) 793-7222 and schedule a free case evaluation.